getting to know your international connection part 1

Hello every one

It has been very annoying that i heard nothing from the countries i have made a connection to so i chose to address different countries and i did in hope that they will answer me as they did to others in the group in the mean while i’am going to go with choice two and three in the assignment. I chose to talk about poverty in the middle east since my original back ground is from the middle east and i chose one pf the largest countries in population Egypt though am not from their but to me we are the same. Egypt is a highly populated country with over 72 million population were one -third of the population are children and over one fifth are living in poverty.

The more i read through about poverty issues in different countries i realized that the outcome is almost the same though the struggles might be be some what different especially when it came to children as it was my interest and affiliated to our profession. UNICEF reported that children who grow up in poverty are more likely to suffer from health problems, less education there fro effecting their skills that help support their life, additionally the report indicated that children that grow up poor are more likely to become parents to poor children.

Through my search in the UNICEF reports i found the important and most essential part in eliminating poverty is through education but unfortunately the report states that poor families in Egypt were not sending their children to schools, which in turn would cause a community of uneducated parents and since mothers are not educated then they are likely to raise children in poverty. The report additionally stated that poverty in Egypt was regional were it was more concentrated in upper and rural  Egypt than lower Egypt.  The Egypt  government is spending effort in attempting to minimize poverty through making a new ministry for family and population and local child protection committees,  introducing new social programs that promote educational, social,emotional,physical and well being of children, laws that protract children.

From reading more and more about poverty i concluded that the causes and issues related to it are very similar and it usually ends up to that poor communities are always uneducated communities there for education is the one of key element in eliminating poverty though there are other countries that suffer from other factors for poverty such as the healthy environment  were children can get the basic needs for living as safety, clean water, healthy nutrition. Unfortunately there is a lot to still to do when it comes to eliminating poverty but the bright side is that there are many individuals and organization seeking to limit this problem.

References

Click to access Egypt_English_Fullreport_Childpovert.pdf

One thought on “getting to know your international connection part 1

  1. Hello Nurmeen,

    I also haven’t heard anything back from the contacts I chose. I’m thinking I may just pick another 2 or 3 countries and see if I hear anything back from them. I see a few others had success on connecting with their contacts. I think if I choose couple of more countries then hopefully I won’t have to do the alternative assignment. I just chosen to do the alternative assignment for this week. I also looked on the UNICEF website and it has a lot of informative resources. I also concluded that poverty is in the areas that have lack of resources, and not able to get assistance they need. I will talk to you soon and I hope you are able to get in contact with your international contacts.

    Like

Leave a comment